|ALISE SAINTE REINE (Alésia)|
In 52 BC, Julius Caesar and his legions defeated the Gallic tribes, united by Vercingétorix, in the hill top stronghold of Alesia (now Alise Sainte Reine). This marked the turn in the balance of power to Rome.
In 252 AD, a young Gaul with the forename of Reine converted to Christianity. The Roman Governor, Olibrius, wished to have his way with her but was rejected, even despite proposing marriage. Reine was tortured and beheaded for her intransigeance, the local populace regarding her as a Martyr. Now she is celebrated as Saint Reine.
Since the mid 1800’s (Napoléon III), there have been archeological excavations in Alise-Sainte-Reine, which have confirmed that the historical Alesia is located here. New discoveries are constantly being made about this Gallo-Roman settlement on the plateau of Mont-Auxois. As a result of the latest excavation, a find was presented to our museum with the inscription – “IN ALISIIA”. This finally dispelled the doubts of some archeologists as to the town's identity!
The site is marked by a tall bronze statue erected on the order of Napoleon III. On the plinth is inscribed a quotation from Vercingétorix's address to the Gauls as imagined by Julius Caesar: "United and forming a single nation inspired by a single ideal, Gaul can defy the world."
Below this imposing statue of Vercingétorix is a smaller statue of Joan d' Arc who it is believed was blessed in Alise in 1429. The Basilica of Sainte Reine dominates the village but there are also a number of historic buildings like the Saint Léger church, the Sainte Reine fountain and the Sainte Reine hospital. This hospital started as a refuge for pilgrims in the 17th century.
Today, a remarkable new museum is being constructed at the foot of Mount Auxois, supplementing the existing excavations and adjacent exhibition space on the plateau above the village.
Muséoparc Alésia 'DISCOVER THE BIG STORY !'
|AROUND 'ALISE SAINTE REINE'|
château was founded in the 12th century by Renaudin de Bussy.
It was rebuilt in the 14th century, and the Renaissance galleries were
added in the 1520s. altered during the reigns of Henri II (1547–1559)
and Louis XIII (1610–1643).
Bussy only obtained his release on condition that he retired once more to Bussy-Rabutin, where he lived in exile from court for seventeen years. Although he briefly returned to court in the 1680s, he soon returned to Bussy-Rabutin, dying there in 1693. During his exile he amassed a collection of portraits, which remains in the château.
Restoration works were begun in the 19th century by the Comte de Sarcus, and the property was listed as an historic monument in 1862. It was purchased by the French state in 1929, and is currently managed by the Centre des monuments nationaux. Further restoration has been carried out since the 1970’s.
FLAVIGNY SUR OZERAIN
village of Flavigny is first mentioned in the charter of the Benedictine
Abbey founded on the site by Widerard in 719. In the mid-9th century,
in response to the increasing frequency of Viking raids, the relics
of Ste Reine or Regina were removed from the nearby town of Alise to
Flavigny in the hopes that they could be better protected in a more
fortified setting. The relics remain in Flavigny to this day, although
they travel back to Alise every fall for the celebration of the saint's
holy day in early September.
In 1632, the Ursuline convent of Flavigny was founded and, in the early 18th century, a new residence for the Abbot of Flavigny was constructed; by that time the abbacy had become corrupt and was held by a layman who had little to do with the town.
At the beginning of the French Revolution, there may have been as few as five monks in residence. The abbey church was probably already ruinous, although local tradition holds that it suffered damage at the hands of revolutionaries. The parish church was more or less unharmed.
the 21st century, Flavigny has something fewer than 400 year-round residents,
although this number increases in the summer due to the foreigners (Swiss,
American, Australian, German) who have summer homes in the village.
The abbey now houses the factory which manufactures Les Anis de Flavigny,
small aniseed flavored pastilles with a world wide popularity. Various
artists an artisans make their homes in the village, and it has become
a popular tourist destination.
Fontenay Abbey is one of the oldest Cistercian monasteries
in Europe. Founded in 1118 by St Bernard in a marshy Burgundy valley,
the abbey has not change its magnificient Romanesque style. Except for
the refectorywhich was destroyed, all the rooms have been perfectly
conserved : church, dormitory, cloister, council room, heating room,
lodging for the abbots and the forge. Today, Fontenay attracts more
than 120,000 visitors from around the world. Apart from the visits,
many cultural activities (Concerts, theatre, ...) are organized in the
BURGUNDY and “The Art of the Joy of Living”
Come to our region and, during your stay, discover the many sights that await – the picturesque village of Noyers that was once an impressive fortified town, the city of Semur-en-Auxois with its cracked towers, Montbard and the towers of Buffon, the Abbey of Fontenay and the celebrated water hammer forge, the source of the Seine river, the Burgundy canal, ... The list is endless and all await your arrival.